2 Comments

Then fall apart in parts.

I have been listening to ALOT of Lykke Li lately. Although I had flirted with the idea of sitting down and giving her offerings a proper listen for some time I must admit I just never really did – for no particular reason at all to be honest. Whilst I had heard many great things and knew she had been around for a while, something just stopped me.

And how I regret waiting. 

Now I am going through what can only be described as the weirdest break-up ever (see: each of us refuse to move out of the house we share as a matter of pride and one-upmanship) and I am finding myself curling up to her unique and seriously beautiful songs each night rather than said ex-boyfriend/current ‘house mate’. The one which I continue to play is ‘Until We Bleed’ which, if you are aware of the song, the title of this post borrows a line from. The song, a collaboration with Kleerup, depicts the age-old tale of a relationship that is toxic but yet one which you just aren’t strong enough to walk away from – despite knowing it’s not good for either of you.

The song, like all amazing pieces, feels like it was written for me, to me. It describes the last year or so of my relationship. It captures my pain, my feelings of helplessness, the sadness, the bittersweet acceptance…..and the everything else.

Whilst it was featured in an episode of Misfits UK, the song hasn’t received much notice – in the mainstream press anyway. And, whilst Adele (who I love) captured everyones post-break up, nostalgic mood, ‘Until We Bleed’ takes the ugly moments before you are strong enough to walk away and turns them in to a beautiful, and somehow comforting, record.

Take a listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPRt2r3QemwImage

2 comments on “Then fall apart in parts.

  1. Lykke Li seriously puts hearts in my eyes. I adore her.

Leave a Reply

